Mixing Up My Workouts (Happy Mother’s Day!)

pure barre

Happy Mother’s Day! We are off for our special Mother’s Day breakfast tradition this morning but I wanted to stop in with my workouts from the week first.

This was a good week in workouts although you will notice I ran a little less than normal.

While I did have my period early on this week (which is why I didn’t run the Long Island Half Marathon last Sunday!), I can’t even say that it affected me workout wise.

Instead, I just felt like running less in general. Sometimes I don’t feel like running as long as I usually do and sometimes,  I don’t want to run at all. I spoke to Laura about maybe mixing up my workouts a little more often and it’s something I may keep exploring.

I’ve been sort of set on an autopilot workout routine that I crafted for myself two years ago now. It may be time to shake that up a bit!

I do have a 10 mile race coming up Memorial Day weekend. Perhaps after that I will look into how I can change my workouts around a bit more to break out of what sometimes feels like the same workout routine over and over.

workout recap

Monday – 45 Min Elliptical/Free Weights

I had decided over the weekend that I needed a cross-training day in the gym. It was fun to do the elliptical for the first time in a while and I also played around with the free weights while there.

Tuesday – 7 Miles

2 mile warm up + 4 miles fartleks + cool down

runkeeper splits

Wednesday – 5 Miles/Pure Barre

I ran 5 miles before coming home for two Pure Barre Tone in 10 workouts:

  • Arms & Abs
  • Thighs & Seat < – haven’t done this one in a while!

pure barre

Thursday – 6.2 Miles/Pure Barre

Laura gave me the idea to run easy but speed up towards the end of each mile as way to do something different. I took her advice and enjoyed this run! I ran the first .80 of each mile fairly easy and then picked up my pace for the remaining .20 – it was a great workout!

running path

When I was finished (I usually run longer but didn’t feel like it) I went home for two Pure Barre Tone in 10 workouts again.

  • Seat & Abs
  • Thighs & Seat < – Again! I don’t usually do the same Pure Barre workouts two days in a row but I felt like it today.

Friday – Rest Day!

I was out late Thursday night and didn’t sleep much either so it was the perfect day to do nothing.

Saturday – 10 Treadmill Miles

Heavy rain in the forecast meant running long on the treadmill. Since I haven’t run on the treadmill now in at least a month, I felt refreshed running inside again! Taking yesterday off helped too so I had a terrific and speedy run.

treadmill

I always break my treadmill long runs up into sets which looked a little bit like this (can’t remember exactly):

Miles 1 – 5: One warm up mile followed by speeds between 6.8 – 7.3

Miles 6 – 9: Alternated .50 mile  7.0-7.5/.50 mile 7.5 – 8.2 plus cool down

Mile 9 was my fastest, finishing at a speed of 8.2. I knew I had a serious run when I needed to pause the belt before beginning the cool down!

Sunday – Pure Barre

[bctt tweet=”workout from the week! #running #purebarre @pure_barre #workoutrecap #fitfluential #treadmill” username=”cookiechrunicle”]

How often do you mix up your workout routine? Do you tend to follow the same schedule week to week?

Are you doing anything special today for Mother’s Day?

Is today a run day or a rest day?

Author: The Cookie ChRUNicles

Hi! I'm Meredith. Join me while I run and cook my way through single motherhood. It is always an adventure trying to teach my 12 year old son the benefits of an active lifestyle combined with healthy eating while of course, still leaving room for dessert.

3 thoughts on “Mixing Up My Workouts (Happy Mother’s Day!)”

  1. I’ve gotten into a workout routine recently that seems to be working for me, but I know Ill get bored in a few weeks and change things up. Happy Mothers Day! Hope you enjoyed your breakfast:)

Leave a comment