My Hamstring Is Better! (weekly workout recap)

elliptical

The last week feels like a really long blur but I’m happy to report that my hamstring is much better!

It turned out to be a full week without running for me, which is really fine – I’m grateful that I gave my hamstring a chance to heal from whatever was bothering it, and that it didn’t take too long because I stopped running immediately the week before when I noticed it didn’t feel “right”. I did try to run on Wednesday, but when I felt my hamstring in the first two steps, I quickly decided to give it more time.

By Saturday’s run attempt, I felt fine!

I will say though, I did the elliptical for the first time in easily a year, and that was a nice change! The range of motion felt perfect for my hamstring and provided me with a nice warm-up option before barre and pilates.

elliptical

Last Week’s Workouts

I love that I have so many workout options that I barely realize how many days I go without running.

  • 2 Walking Classes
  • 2 PIlates Classes
  • 1 Barre Class
  • 1 Barefoot Sculpt Class
  • 1 Yoga Class
  • 1 Spin Class

Monday – 15 Min Elliptical + 45 Min Barre (ball, strap, 2 lb weights)

I hadn’t used an elliptical machine in a year, and I never tried one at Equinox until now! My hamstring felt well enough to try it out and when I didn’t feel anything while pedaling, I kept going as an easy warm-up before barre class.

Tuesday – 10 Min Elliptical + 60 Min Pilates Fusion (ring + 2 lb weights)

My hamstring feels better today! I still warmed up on the elliptical because that feels really nice right now. Also, this pilates class was so challenging in such a great way.

pilates

Wednesday – 30 Min Elliptical

I went outside to run but within two steps I “felt” my hamstring so I didn’t push it – I went home, changed my clothes, and headed to Equinox. The elliptical felt nice and then I did a few rounds of free weights before stretching.

Thursday – 45 Min Precision Walk Elevate + 60 Min Vinyasa Yoga

I did okay with today’s treadmill walk class! While I kept my speed a little slower than normal and only went up to a 12% incline when the rest of the class was at 15%, my hamstring felt much better.

Friday – 20 Min Elliptical + 60 Min Barefoot Sculpt (2 lb weights + ball)

Saturday – 20 Min Run + 45 Min Spin (Beats & Bands)

I was able to run today! I started with a one minute run/one minute walk to see how my hamstring held up during the intervals. Once I noticed I was fine, I stayed with an easy pace (6.3 -6.5 speed on treadmill) and an incline between 1.0-2.0%.

Sunday – 45 Min Precision Walk Elevate + 45 Min Pilates

Author: The Cookie ChRUNicles

Hi! I'm Meredith. Join me while I run and cook my way through single motherhood. It is always an adventure trying to teach my 12 year old son the benefits of an active lifestyle combined with healthy eating while of course, still leaving room for dessert.

Leave a comment