Running & Workout Recap 5.2.16 – 5.8.16

running shoes

I typed Long Island Half Marathon Training in the title before quickly realizing that my training is over!

Good morning and Happy Mother’s Day! We are getting ready to go out now for our favorite Mother’s Day early morning breakfast tradition, AKA my favorite morning of the year.

When I looked at our previous Mother’s Day recaps the other day, I couldn’t help but laugh and smile and then laugh again when I saw this picture that my son drew for me three years ago:

mothers day 2013

What do you like best? The ice cream cone on my shirt? The fact I have no pants on, or that all I do all day is run and walk? The headphones are a nice touch. 🙂

So I slowly returned to my normal running self after a few days of recovering from the Long Island Half Marathon. My legs were MUCH more sore than I expected after this race but races do bring a different level of intensity than our regular running routines.

I kept things fairly light this week, you know, like a reverse taper as they say. I slowly brought Pure Barre back into the mix, kept up with yoga to stretch things out and pedaled on the elliptical until I felt well enough to run.

The weather hasn’t been great here, lots of rain and chilly temperatures but the simple fact that daylight occurs nice and early is enough to make me happy.

running shoes

Monday – Yoga & 35 Minutes Elliptical

I craved a good stretch so I started my morning with Yoga For Runners: Pre-Run and then headed over to my gym for 35 easy minutes on the elliptical. My legs were a little bit sore but felt really good on the elliptical.

Tuesday – Yoga & 45 Minutes Elliptical

Yoga For Runners: Injury Prevention — felt so good!

My legs were still sore (mostly in my thighs) to the point where I couldn’t even run the distance from my house to my gym (we are talking about .15) to get out of the rain. I had to walk my way there which is how you know you are really not ready to run at all just yet.

Wednesday – Pure Barre & 45 Minutes Easy Running!

I know I sound ridiculous when I say how excited I was to get back outside for a run since it was only two days of no running but gosh it felt good! Once I woke up, I knew I felt well enough to give it a go.

splits

I also knew I felt well enough to ease back into Pure Barre.

Pure Barre Tone in 10 Combo:

  • Full Body
  • Arms & Abs
  • Back & Cool down

Thursday – 7 Miles & Yoga

Terrific run today! Love how good it feels to return to normal.

splits

Friday – Pure Barre Studio Series DVD & 3.25 Miles

It’s been a good few weeks since working with the longer Pure Barre DVD’s so it felt nice to be back – The Studio Series is 45 minutes in length.

pure barre

30 minutes on the treadmill — I followed my easy treadmill run workout; it’s definitely one of my favorite workouts that I have created. It’s perfect for keeping your pace easy while engaging you on the treadmill.

Saturday – 10 Miles

I realized this was my first long run on a Saturday in three weeks  — the half was last Sunday and the Saturday before I had cut my long run short because I didn’t feel well.

I kept it to 10 miles as to not overdo myself but I felt great! I ran a variation of my negative split workout < – if you haven’t tried this workout, please do! It’s a good one.

I did notice a change to MapMyRun though — it now gives you average splits in the workout summary, instead of actual mile by mile splits. Not a big deal but I noticed.

splits

Sunday – Easy Run/Pure Barre

I may squeeze in a Pure Barre workout and/or get outside after breakfast for an easy run.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and Mother’s Day!

[bctt tweet=”reverse taper week of workouts #running #workouts #purebarre #halfmarathon #fitfluential #mothersday” username=”cookiechrunicle”]

What are your plans for today?

How long does it take you to return to your normal running routine after a hard/long race?

Author: The Cookie ChRUNicles

Hi! I'm Meredith. Join me while I run and cook my way through single motherhood. It is always an adventure trying to teach my 12 year old son the benefits of an active lifestyle combined with healthy eating while of course, still leaving room for dessert.

8 thoughts on “Running & Workout Recap 5.2.16 – 5.8.16”

  1. That picture is too funny! At first I thought you were holding a cup of coffee but then I realized I think its your phone attached to headphones. You definitely bounced back well at the end of the week! Hope you have a nice Mother’s Day:)

  2. Happy Mothers Day! I hope you have a wonderful day with your son. I’ve never actually trained for a race like I am, but I plan to take two full weeks off after the marathon. Even if I don’t do great or feel like I gave it everything, I’ve trained for 6 months and the build up of fatigue is enough to warrant rest.
    Have a great week!

  3. Enjoy your Mother’s Day, love your tradition with your son, and being with your own mother later in the day!!! Such a special year with his bar mitzvah coming up. Soak it all in with joy and a full heart. Don’t let the process get to you because the bottom line is it all flies by so fast so enjoy every second. Your half marathon training and the actual marathon really was such a positive experience for you. Have a great day!

  4. Happy Mother’s Day! Enjoy your time with your son!
    I’m doing some studying, body pump, and cooking my friends some dinner! Also, I’m impressed that you’re back in the running game so soon. Usually training for a race takes it out of me so much that I take a week or so to get back to it.

Leave a comment