Thinking Out Loud…

Whole Foods Food Bar

I really like nice restaurants.

I enjoy getting dressed up and dining out so fancy with so many forks and spoons next to my plate that I don’t even know which to use for which course.

However, if you bring me to Whole Foods and tell me that I can have as much as I want from the Food Bar, I will happily eat out of a brown box with plastic utensils and love you forever.

Whole Foods Food Bar

I didn’t even try to resist yesterday while I was food shopping but did my best to pick the lightest-in-weight brussels sprouts to help keep the cost down.

Food Bar

Totally normal that I ate this small box of roasted vegetables while I was driving, I know.

Imagine if I got pulled over? The officer would see me snacking on vegetables. Not chips. Or leftover Halloween candy. Or a banana. Or a sandwich or even something complex like feeding myself a bowl of cereal.

Roasted vegetables. From a brown box.

Thinking-Out-Loud

I realized that I take the measuring cups out from the cabinet when I am going to bake but I rarely use them.

Instead, I look at them on the counter and eyeball my ingredients. Like, hmm, this amount of sugar looks like it would fit nicely in that 1/2 cup measuring cup.

I get really excited when my son doesn’t finish his oatmeal in the morning because then I get to eat it. I am annoyed on the days when he is extra hungry and leaves nothing over for me.

On occasion I purposely offer him an English muffin with peanut butter because I look forward to eating the peanut butter and jelly remnants stuck to the knife.

peanut butter and jelly english muffins

And sometimes, I get bent out of shape when he asks for grilled cheese because I really don’t want any part of that.

Unless he requests the Ezekiel raisin bread. Then I look forward to picking out some of the raisins.

The teenager in me is trying to understand how kids today think they can get away with prank phone calls. I mean, back in my day, I knew what I was doing, blocked my number and we were good to go.

Today? How do you prank, especially when you use a cell phone. Even if you block your number, there’s something called WIFI and an IP Address.

The adult in me wonders what was so appealing about those prank calls anyway.

Why were they even funny? And why did we hang up on the boys we liked? What the heck was the point of that?

I also don’t know what I would have done with text and these smart phones as a teenager. Totally don’t know.

Remember the days before text? When it was normal and acceptable not to talk to everyone ALL OF THE TIME?

Now, if someone doesn’t respond instantly, the nerve of them for actually trying to work during the day or sleep at night.

And to end this random post on another completely off the topic note, if you place your first order with Skoop right now, they are offering a free BlenderBottle with your purchase!

Skoop

Just enter the code BOTTLE at checkout. You’re welcome.

I need to order myself some more Skoop B-Strong. Thanks for reminding me.

Be sure to check out what everyone else is thinking about today!

******************************

Do you remember life before texting?

Favorite plant-based Protein Powder?

Did you make prank phone calls as a kid?

Author: The Cookie ChRUNicles

Hi! I'm Meredith. Join me while I run and cook my way through single motherhood. It is always an adventure trying to teach my 12 year old son the benefits of an active lifestyle combined with healthy eating while of course, still leaving room for dessert.

23 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud…”

  1. Hahahaha! This post was hilarious to read. I sure hope your son didn’t finish his oatmeal this morning so you could start your day off on a high 🙂 I never even though about the whole prank calling thing until you mentioned it. There has to be a way to block your #.. right? I hardly call anyone, so I wouldn’t know – & now I’m curious.

    1. You can block a cell phone number but I think it’s all too easy today to find out the ip address and wifi address of our phones…And, my son didn’t have oatmeal today but he did have a waffle with peanut butter so at least I got the leftovers on the knife lol.

  2. Haha i eat the peanut butter off the knife from my son’s sandwich every morning. It’s all he will eat in his lunch. Also, I lived in the middle of nowhere until I was 19. No Internet, no cell signal. I’m definitely thankful but I do miss out on some good parties. Lol.

  3. I have never been to a Whole Foods. The closest one to me is about 45 minutes away through awful traffic. I keep saying I’m going to plan a pilgrimage but don’t get around to it. I hear wonderful things about their salad bar. Have a great day!

  4. So yesterday while I was driving on the highway the person next to me was eating a mcflurry while they were driving! I tried to get as far away from them as possible.
    Its so funny to think back on the days of prank phone calls and no texting. I have a feeling social media is more of the main form of communication these days than any sort of phone!

  5. I think about the text thing often, because in some ways I think I’d be a different person if I’d had a smartphone as a teenager! I don’t know if it would have been better or worse, probably worse I’m thinking with more drama. I mean, I can’t help but feel a little offended if I text my husband and he ignores it and never responds. I can only imagine the relationship drama in high school that would have occurred 🙂

  6. Sadly, I don’t think life really existed for me before texting. There was of course the childhood era where nobody did it, but I remember as early as grade 5 kids getting cell phones and texting. By grade 7 it was as bad as it is today.

    I SO feel you on the PB+J! Just last night I had to get juuuust the right of jam on my spoon before going at the PB, because that combo. 🙂

    1. True, my son has had a cell phone since the fifth grade. I am totally dating myself here but my first cell phone was one of those giant ones with no call waiting or caller id. I had it when I was 18 and left it in my car turned off most of the time. Emergencies only lol.

  7. That is the most swank WFM display ever. I didn’t really prank people, as I didn’t really have people to call when I was a kid (I had friends, but we weren’t the prank calling type, I guess). But yes, caller ID does take the mystery away.
    Also, pay phones.

  8. I used to make SO many prank calls! I haven’t thought about that in years, lol! I guess people don’t do it anymore? or do they? and people just know who it is? that’s silly.

  9. So true about the texting thing–with Facebook, Skype, email, text, etc. I feel like i am constantly virtually connected to someone. Currently I kinda like that, since it helps with post-college separation anxiety haha.

    I’ve always loved Sun Warrior proteins but lately have been getting into MRM veggie protein. Great company with nice quality products!

  10. I always wonder why texting came after voice phone calls. It seems backwards…hearing someone live is so much more advanced than having words on the screen in my opinion haha. But, texting is definitely WAY TOO popular now.

  11. lol. Always give him something extra. That’ll easily fix things. You’ll always have some leftovers for sure. Best of all, you don’t even have to wait until he’s finished.

Leave a comment